Paleo cranberry sauce

Standard

Cranberries really freaked me out as a kid. Sort of like brussel sprouts. You always hear how horrible they are and the only reason they even have a spot at the table on Thanksgiving is purely for tradition’s sake. That being said, I’m not sure where the tradition began to turn it into jelly in a can, but, I’m getting off track.

I finally worked up the courage to try my grandmother’s cranberry sauce one Thanksgiving in my teen years. Um, yum! I had been skipping this jello, sugar, pineapple, orange and pecan wonderment all of these years?! It is fantastic and like a dessert instead of a side. Well, duh, look at the ingredients above. But, it was better than the can version and soon became my requisite contribution to my in-laws feasts.

That was until this year when I wanted to see what I could do to Paleo-fy the dish so that I could eat it as well as my kids. In my fridge I happened to have some organic apple cider. I also keep raw local honey on hand. So I combined about 2 cups of cider with. 3/4 of a bag of cranberries and 1/2 cup of honey in a saucepan on the stove. I brought the mixture to a boil, lowered to a simmer and listened to those little bits of goodness ‘pop’! I kept an eye on them for about 15 minutes or so, cajoling the last couple of cranberries to burst. Then I simply let the mixture cool and thicken, added a little cinnamon because I love it and threw it in the fridge .

Well, my daughter asked if she could lick her plate after her first serving. My Paleo-eating coworkers also appreciated my creation. Non-Paleo people found it tart, but your taste for sweetness certainly changes when you aren’t constantly bombarded with sugar. Try it and see if this becomes your go to dish for next fall’s feast!!

20131220-232239.jpg

20131220-234405.jpg

20131220-234413.jpg

20131220-234420.jpg

20131220-234427.jpg

Leave a Reply

