Beef Jerky

Standard

I always saw those packs of beef jerky in convenience stores and was completely turned off. That seemed so far from actual food. That is until we became primal/real food eaters. In an attempt to find different lunch ideas for my kids lunches, I came across a picture of grass-fed homemade beef jerky. I thought I’d give it a go for the other members of my family.

First things first, the butchers at Whole Foods are ridiculously knowledgeable and helpful. I told them what I was trying to do and they gave me the option of London broil or flank steak. They then cut it in 1/8 in strips for me. I came home Saturday and began creating my marinade, it is tasty!! Here is the recipe:

2# grass-fed London broil
1/2 c coconut aminos (substitute for both soy sauce and Worchestire sauce)
1 tbsp liquid smoke (optional, I happened to be out this round)
2 tbsp chili powder
1 tbsp cumin
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp turmeric
1 tsp Celtic sea salt
1 tsp ground pepper

20140122-202751.jpg

I mix all of the marinade ingredients in a large zip top plastic bag and squish it to mix. Then add the strips of meat and lay flat in the fridge for 36-72 hrs (that’s right, time got away from me this time. Whoops!)

20140122-203005.jpg

Then foil line 2 cookie sheets and top with a wire rack. Lay out your meat strips so no pieces touch. Heat your oven to 170 F or it’s lowest temp and prop oven open with a wooden spoon. Cook for 4-6 hours, flipping halfway through.

20140122-203149.jpg

Put in a container and refrigerate for up to 2 weeks. Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

