Sunday dinner 8.17.14

Standard

Sunday dinners traditionally revolve around a roast. While I don’t always follow tradition, I love the opportunity to embrace a braised dish that you get to smell all day long and enjoy the fruits of your labors at the end of a fun filled weekend. While perusing Pinterest for a change from what I already have pinned, I discovered a blog called Primal Palate that even has a free app of recipes and grocery list planning.

There I saw the name Caramelized Beef Brisket. I love brisket and caramelization, but wasn’t sure that they could be successfully combined. Challenge on! The best part was that it had 3 ingredients!!

I picked up a beautiful grass-fed brisket from Whole Foods and seasoned both sides with salt and pepper.

IMG_2596.JPG

IMG_2597.JPG

I then rough chopped a yellow onion for the bottom of my roasting dish (with oven set at 350) and set the meat on top.

IMG_2598.JPG place fat side up in the pan so as the fat melts, it settled into the meat keeping it moist and flavorful. After roasting, lid off for 90 minutes, it already looked and smelled delectable.

I then ladled in 2 cups of beef broth that we had ordered from uswell nessmeats.com and covered the roaster and lowered the oven temp to 325. Over the next 4 hours, I basted the meat with the jus and saw the caramelization happening before my eyes.

Realizing I needed some sides, I looked to the beets from my new CSA basket and an heirloom tomato. I peeled and chopped the beets, placed them on a foil lined baking sheet and tossed with olive oil, salt and pepper. They went in the oven with the brisket for last last hour or so.

IMG_2599.JPG

We love a good caprese salad, but lacked mozz, so substituted some local cow’s milk feta and drizzled olive oil, balsamic and basil on top. Voila!!

IMG_2602.JPG

IMG_2600-1.JPG

Leave a Reply

